• A2B4C Photo Gallery

Feeling the love in Kalgoorlie

Yes – still in Kalgoorlie and although the interest and support here has been amazing…  being off the road for two days is killing me!

We arrived two days early and have to stay until we have the crew changeover which has happened today. It is always sad to see a crew go as every crew has been like family. The new crew of Katrina Mitchell, Mark Burt and Petah Handley are all excited and have jumped straight in the deep end with some fundraising in Kalgoorlie. We have been busy in town with great media coverage and attending a function set up by Active Tree Services and the Kalgoorlie tri and cycling club (thanks to Steve Gibson for arranging). Last night we raised over $1500 with the triathlon and cycling club, and news from the CCIA is that a large number of donations have been rolling in from Western Australia. I also did a long interview with Steve Price on 2UE yesterday and the same has occurred with donations from the east coast.

Special news is that Cannondale have also just donated $5,000 to the charity. Thanks Lucien. This news give me more passion and determination to arrive in Sydney within the 92 days.

Again, rest days seem to make my body want to shut down and all I want to do is get back on the road. I am starting to feel a few twinges and have a massive headache but believe this will disappear tomorrow when my mind and body gets back on track.

Both crews have been enjoying each other’s company over the past two days and tonight we have been invited to the Bottlemart Picadilly Hotel for dinner. I plan to be in bed early and on the road around 6am to cycle and run to Norseman before heading across the Nullabor. I have 16 days to get to Adelaide where I will see the rest of my family who are flying in for two days and this will be the first time I will have seen them since leaving Sydney on 29 May.

A big thank you also to the Boulder Discovery Holiday Park for having us over the past two days.

Craig

Media shot

Media shot

 

Steve Gibson and Crew 3B

Steve Gibson and Crew 3B

 

The Super Pit

The Super Pit

14 Responses

  1. Hi Craig,
    We hope your still feeling great, especially now your on the homeward stretch. Keep up the great work.
    I must say that the support crew is getting better looking on each leg, have a great time, girls and take care Craig, our thoughts are with you.
    Love from Kyles, Leachie, Bronts and Noey.xxxx

  2. Only 2 more weeks until we’re coming to see you!!!
    Can’t wait!!!! So looking forward, after that its only 3 weeks till your back!!!
    Love you and miss you heaps.
    Love Kylie And Lisa xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  3. Hi Craig,

    Have been following your journey weekly and I must say I am just amazed at your ability to keep going. You are an inspiration to us all. Nice to see the girls have joined you. KT and Peta – cook up a storm. Best of luck and have fun in those WA mining towns… Cheers Trish G x

  4. Hi Craig and the team and my mate Bill Wall looks like you can’t wait to get back on the bike. Wow what an amazing journey !! best wishes for your Nullabour leg make sure you have plenty of water !!

    Hi to all the team, best wishes always Wazza

  5. Hey bubs, Looking forward to giving you guys a big kiss and cuddle. Even more so I look forward to taking you out for your birthday. Miss you all and know at the end of the day this trip will be all worth while. Jess would be proud of all involved.
    Love dad.

  6. Thanks Trish – It’s game on already and knowing the girls competitive streak I am about to put on 5 kilo’s and be spoilt. BRING IT ON.
    Regards, Craig

  7. Thanks Wazza, It is so good to have Billy along as you know he is a great friend and very passionate about what I am doing. He is missing Linda, but is committed until adelaide and having a ball.
    Regards, Craig

  8. Hi Craig – hope the fruit cake that i sent up with KT put a spring in your step!! What a journey – have really enjoyed following you all!
    Sam

  9. Yer,
    I sooooooooooo cant wait to give you a big CUDDLE.
    I’m sure you’ll want to get rid of us by the end as you’ll be hugged out!!! I know Jess would be so proud and she would be following your journey as if she were actually there.
    Can’t wait!!!!
    Love you lots and lots and lots and lots and lots!!!!!!!
    Kylie xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  10. Awesome Sam, I had a about three slices yesterday and going for some more this afternoon. Beautiful and moist.
    Regards, Craig

  11. Diddo, xxxxxxxxxxxx

  12. Listened to your interview Fri. morning with Steve Price and found it truly inspiring.

    I too am a cancer sufferer and am undergoing chemotherapy. You mentioned a muscle gadget you use on sore muscles that works well for you. I’m at that stage of chemo where every muscle in my body is in pain and wonder if you’d send me the name of your (Russian Austronaut) muscle pain reliever. I’d discuss it with my oncologist before buying it but it sounds like such a wonderful alternative to pain killers.

    Thank you and the best of luck to you, Sally

  13. Hi Sally, thanks for your message. Teh company is Scenar Health and they are situated at Narrabeen. 99132020-
    Regards Craig
    PS Hope everything goes well for you.

  14. Dear Ctaig,

    I left a few days after you answered my question about the Scenar Health company in Narrabeen. I’m in Boston proving to my 96 year old mother and sons and granddaughter that “I made it’.

    I’ll contact them as soon as I get back next week.

    Congrats on your journey! Thanks again Sally

Leave a comment